PDA

View Full Version : Think a scratched lens is no good? Think again

koh303
9-May-2014, 10:20
This article explains in wonderful detail how most scratches and even extreme blemishes in a lens glass mean absolutely NOTHING:
http://kurtmunger.com/dirty_lens_articleid35.html

As a university professor my students eventually accept this as the truth, but will the "1mm barely noticeable" scratch mentioning crowd be convinced? probably not.

jbenedict
9-May-2014, 10:27
I've been told that, if there is a big divot out of the lens element and you are afraid of weird reflections and refractions, take some india ink and put it in the scratch/divot to suppress reflections.

BetterSense
9-May-2014, 10:40
Shhh...don't tell anyone. I enjoy getting deeply discounted lenses due to presence of scratches and "cleaning marks". Really grungy lenses can really still be quite sharp. The extra scratches will decrease contrast, and haze will decrease contrast and speed.

8x10 user
9-May-2014, 12:07
Well lets do some math...

A lens element of 70mm has an area of 3848.45mm^2

A rather large scratch of 3 mm x .333mm scratch would occupy 1mm^2 of the element or 1/3848 of this hypothetical lens

10 stops (color neg)= A 1:1000 subject brightness contrast ratio
6 stops (color slide)= A 1:64 subject brightness contrast ratio

Most parts of the lens contribute light to most parts of the image. A scratch on the lens is not in focus and does not produce a hard artifact, or mark in the image. Yes the scratch would block some light but the amount is negligible compared to the total amount passing through. There is a question of flare resistance which could cause a noticeable effect. This can of course be mitigated by the use of a compendium, lens hood, avoiding certain lighting scenarios, and by blacking out the area effected on the lens.