PDA

View Full Version : Anyone here teaching photography?

jantman
12-Oct-2004, 16:10
I was just wondering if anyone here is teaching photography, and where and on what level?

As a prospective college student, I'm interested that very few schools that I look at have faculty members who I have ever heard of.

Kirk Gittings
12-Oct-2004, 16:43
I currently teach in the summers at the Art Institute of Chicago (though I took this summer off to finish a book project) and did teach for twelve years at the University of New Mexico and am close with some of the current faculty there.

What are your questions? What are you looking for?

Donald Brewster
12-Oct-2004, 17:26
As a former boss of mine said regarding to my making a similar statement: "They've never heard of you either." There are many good photo teachers out there who aren't household names, and just because a photographer is "famous" that doesn't mean he's a good teacher. And many fine artists of every stripe toil in relative anonymity. Since Kirk mentioned the University of New Mexico -- they have one of the better photo faculties in the country.

tim atherton
12-Oct-2004, 18:01
It really depends on what exactly you are wanting to do?

There's the likes of Sarah Lawrence College (Joel Sternfeld)

or Bard College (Stephen Shore) etc (hey or even Harvard - witht he excellent Chris Killip...)

And yes, the Art Institute of Chicago

and also Columbia College, Chicago (Bob Thall)

or even the University of Ottawa (Lynne Cohen)

But there are also many courses/schools out there with numerous excellent "no name" teachers

And it depends if you are looking for a more technical course or a more creative type course.

In my (probably not so humble...) opinion, taking a broader arts course, but maybe biased towards photogorpahy, is probably of most value - you will probably learn more about being creative in your photogrpahy by exposure to the other creative arts and artists than by a course which is mainly just photography