PDA

View Full Version : Stupid Shutter Question

drgoose
14-Apr-2014, 18:53
Hello everyone, I am new to LF phtotography and I have a really stupid question. I am using a Schneider 90mm f6.8 Angulon. My question is if I place the shutter speed indicator between two settings do I get a shutter speed aprox half the difference between those settings. i.e. I if the lens has settings for 1/10th and for 1/25th, if I put the indicator between them do I get a shutter speed of aprox 1/17.5th (or there abouts)?

Thanks to all

Joaquin

Kevin Crisp
14-Apr-2014, 19:10
On some Compur shutters you can set between marked numbers for intermediate speeds, but only in certain ranges on the dial as low and high speeds use different gear trains. I don't know anybody who would try to eyeball a half or a third stop difference this way instead of something obtaining something more precise and predictable by changing the aperture.

If you have a very late Angulon (lucky you) in a Copal shutter, then no, it won't work since the innards are not stepless anywhere in the range.

drgoose
14-Apr-2014, 19:22
this is the lens I have

Renato Tonelli
14-Apr-2014, 20:07
I would advise against it - it could damage the shutter.

Leigh
15-Apr-2014, 00:23
DO NOT attempt to achieve intermediate speeds, for two reasons:
1) Firing the shutter with the speed set between marks can damage the shutter.
2) Any such exposure adjustment can be easily accomplished with the diaphragm, which is continuously adjustable.

There were a few old shutters on which intermediate speeds could be set, but each model was unique, with no
reliable pattern even for a single manufacturer. Also, only a few speeds could be varied, not all.

- Leigh

Carsten Wolff
15-Apr-2014, 02:44
http://www.flutotscamerarepair.com/Tips.htm

Doremus Scudder
15-Apr-2014, 02:59
Just to clarify and summarize: