PDA

View Full Version : Ground Glass Dark Around The Edges

drgoose
14-Apr-2014, 07:50
Hello, I am new to LF photography. I am using a calumet cadet 4x5 camera with a Schneider Angulon 90mm f/6.1. I am having trouble viewing my ground glass. Even on sunny days with the lens wide open, the center of the ground glass appears bright and it is easy to focus with. As distance increases from the center of the ground glass towards the periphery, the image becomes progressively darker, and in order to focus I kind of have to look at it at an angle. I am assuming that this is because of some light fall off at the edges of the Image Circle of the lens and because the lens has a small image circle the problem is worse than if I was using a lens with a larger image circle.

Is this reasoning correct?

Thanks in advace.
Joaquin

Bob Salomon
14-Apr-2014, 07:53
You should have a Fresnel lens on the camera to even the light spread out. A newer ground glass would probably also help. But wide angle lenses do have fall off. Actually all lenses do, wide angles just have more. And you have a 90mm 6.8 not a 6.1, correct?

Michael S
14-Apr-2014, 08:05
I suggest that you refer to the home page of this web site, and click on "Large format lenses: specific wide angle and normal lenses". There you will find a description of the 90mm Angulon lens. I, myself own and use the 90mm Angulon for landscape photography purposes. Light fall-off is endemic in the lens, so critical applications, such as architectural photography, would be better served by the more modern Super Angulon lenses. That having been said, the 90mm Angulon is one of my most used lenses in the field, and it is far lighter than the Super Angulon which I used to lug around with me. By the way, the Super Angulon has a bit of fall-off as well.

drgoose
14-Apr-2014, 08:07
Sorry , you are correct it is a 6.8.