PDA

View Full Version : Graflok conversion on Anniversary Speed Graphic possible? And recommended?

silverph
4-Apr-2014, 18:19
Newbie here about to shoot my first large format.

I acquired an Anniversary Speed Graphic years ago intended as a decoration until I caught the film bug. Since I already have a lot of FP-3000B pack film for my old polaroid camera, I bought a PA-145 adapter so I can also use it on the LF as well.

Of course I discovered too late it won't work since I do not have a Graflok back. Being I already have the expensive adapter, I might as well spend a few more, right?

With that said, can I buy one of those Graflok backs being sold on eBay and replace my spring back with the existing screws?

I'm contemplating on doing that or sell the camera I have and replace it with one that already has the Graflok. The back alone is about $125 on eBay.

Thank you.

John

jp
4-Apr-2014, 18:45
I've got such a camera. It's a good combination. I like the anniversary's shutter better better than the pacemaker's. I didn't do the work, but it looks like the previous owner just swapped backs

silverph
4-Apr-2014, 22:05
Thank you. I'll probably convert it.

Jim Jones
5-Apr-2014, 07:31
Also shop for a beat-up Crown or Pacemaker Speed Graphic with the Graflok back: it may be as cheap as the back alone. The later front standard will interchange with the Anniversary standard, giving an option for front tilts. However, the later standard won't tilt far enough to take full advantage of the drop bed. The sliding part of the front bed is also interchangeable with the Anniversary, giving us the option of fold-down infinity stops.

jp
5-Apr-2014, 07:51