PDA

View Full Version : advice on Congo 210mm 6.3 and Wollensak 127mm 4.5?

Cindy_4701
29-Sep-2004, 20:43
Hi,

I am a beginner and have been looking into LF for some time. I have a chance to buy a good entry camera, Omega 45E, but what I've read here and elsewhere about these lenses makes me think they are suspect and limited. Any experience/advice would be welcome. I'm on a limited budget and buying a new lens afterwards would be a stretch if the Congo and Wollensak are disappointing. Thanks!

Gem Singer
29-Sep-2004, 21:14
Hi Cindy Donatelli,

After reading your post on the photo.net LF forum, where you mentioned a few more details regarding this package deal, I advise you to pass on this one. The equipment that you describe is way past it's prime. Even when that camera and those lenses were new, they were not considered to be higher quality, top-of-the-line items. The price your friend is asking is no bargain. You can do much better if you are willing to do some further research. Take a look at www.mpex.com and www.keh.com and compare the prices on similar equipment.

ronald moravec
30-Sep-2004, 02:27
I couldn`t surpass my Leicas until I purchased the latest glass. I had some Schneider glass that was from the 60`s. Hugh improvements have been made.

Edward (Halifax,NS)
30-Sep-2004, 05:41
Hi Cindy, what do you plan on photographing? If you are going to be in the field alot, a monorail is a poor choice. I would buy a used Tachihara or Shen Hao and a Fujinon 150mm f/6.3 W. If you are going to be mostly working in a studio then a monorail is perfect.

Don Cameron
30-Sep-2004, 07:46
Hi Cindy