PDA

View Full Version : Which way do you prefer to develop your 4x5 sheet films

abhishek@1985
18-Mar-2014, 17:54
Hi,

I have just started out in Large format pinhole and have some films to be developed. However, being a total newbie, I would like to know your views on which method to use for development.

I don't wanna spend a lot on Jobo stuffs and also I generally use community darkroom for development.

So, I have narrowed it down to either Patterson MOD 54 or tray system. However, I would like to know your thoughts and get some advice as to which way to start so as to make life a little easier for a newbie..

Regards,
Abhishek

vinny
18-Mar-2014, 18:03
Jobo expert drums.

Regular Rod
Taking into account your wish to keep costs down, use trays but process film one sheet at a time. Your pictures are more valuable than the time you "might" save if you try shuffling several at once. To avoid streaks use five trays: water pre-soak, developer, water stop bath, fixer, water wash.

Use a non-poisonous developer like Caffenol ( http://www.caffenol-cookbook.com/ ) so you can use your bare fingers to move the film from tray to tray.

RR

Jim Jones
Tray development is time consuming, but works well. I use six 4x5 trays nested in a large tray to control spillage. The first tray has water with a wetting agent; next, the developer; then the stop; then the fix; then a water rinse; and finally a holding tray until I'm ready to finish washing all the negatives accumulated in the holding tray. With care, several negatives can be developed at the same time.

Gem Singer
18-Mar-2014, 18:08
If you can keep your development space totally dark for 30-40 minutes, it will be much easier use the tray system.

However, if you cannot, use a daylight tank such as the Paterson Mod 54 or the Combi Plan. A little more expensive and complicated.

Either way, you will need a period of total darkness, but only takes a few minutes to load film into a tank.

Bill_1856
18-Mar-2014, 18:08