PDA

View Full Version : x ray photography

monica
27-Sep-2004, 06:20
Hello everyone. My name is Monica and I’m in my final year of photography at the University of Huddersfield, and for the major project I would like to do some x- ray photography using 5x4 films. The "big" problem is how to measure and how long the exposure should be. Can anyone help me with this? Thanks a lot. Monica.

Ernest Purdum
27-Sep-2004, 07:23
I can't help directly, but I think Kodak can. I'm fairly sure I remember x-ray technique being the subject of one of their pamphlets.

It's an interesting subject. I remember a technician at Lockheed Aircraft Corporation. His days were spent taking x-rays of welded assemblies and other prosaic subjects, but the walls of his office were decorated with beautiful x-ray images of flowers, watch mechanisms and other subjects I can't remember now.

The Chambered Nautilus is an example of one of the most beautiful shapes in nature, with the full beauty hidden inside.

James E Galvin
27-Sep-2004, 09:13
The exposure is easily calculated IF you know the X-ray tube output and the film sensitivity to X-rays. You also need the distance of the film from the tube and the transmission of your suject. Or you could use an X-ray "lightmeter". But you probably don't have those numbers. Also note that as you change the energy (the X-ray tube voltage), the transmission of your subject and probably the sensitivity of the film changes. So the only way is trial and error. Try 1 second. This is were Polaroid is good, you don't have to wait. If no picture, try longer (or shorter), maybe by a factor of several (even 10) till you find the ballpark. Well before the end of a box of 20, you should have it. I did an X-ray Polaroid several years ago and got it the third try (lucky), 3 minutes with a weak X-ray source. As I mentioned on the other forum, Polaroid type 55 also gives you a negative. 4x5 Polaroid is available in several speeds. Its about $2 a shot.

monica