PDA

View Full Version : Flourescent-light 'glow' a problem?

Eric Thomson
24-Sep-2004, 23:10
I'm pretty new to darkroom proceedure and self-taught so please excuse a possibly dumb question. When I turn off the flourescent lights in my darkroom to load film into film-holders, I notice the tubes glow for a very extended period. There is still a noticeable flourescing after I've finished loading a dozen sheets. Is there a possibility of fogging from this faint light source?

Thanks

Pete Watkins
24-Sep-2004, 23:19
I have experienced problems in my darkroom caused by flourescent tubes. I now remove the tubes to another room before I do any loading film or processing film or paper. The probmlem is real. Best wishes. Pete.

Joel Brown
25-Sep-2004, 00:02
Eric, I had the same problem years ago. Yes you will fog your film. It will probably happen to the top sheet of film in the box that is exposed while you are loading another into the film holder. As each sheet in the box takes it's turn being the top sheet it is being exposed to your flourescent tubes. Try waiting at least half and hour after turning out the lights before loading your film. I was using Arista 125 film at the time. Between each sheet was a thin tissue of paper. That paper was exposed on every sheet of film from the flourescent lights. Get rid of the the lights or find another room to use. Best of luck. Joel

Michael Veit
25-Sep-2004, 00:16
Do all flourescent tubes glow? I've seen this problem referred to several times now, but I swear my tubes don't do it. I load film within 6 feet of the extinguished overhead flourescents without any problem.

Paul Moshay
25-Sep-2004, 01:43