PDA

View Full Version : Any 240mm lenses f5.6 or faster that fit Copal 1 or other #1 shutters?

Misko
26-Feb-2014, 11:24
Hello
Are there any 240mm lenses of f5.6 or faster that fit to #1 shutter originally without any "surgery" and if yes - which ones? (6.3 or slower lenses are not of interest unfortunately).

(I guess mathematics of calculating focal length / f-stop would give me the entrance pupil diameter which is not real opening of the diaphragm and depends on lens' front parts magnification - which is for me unknown part? ----> 240/5.6=42.9 - but I am not sure what are the magnifications for 240mm lenses! so I can compare them to #1shutter's diaphragm which I believe to be 30mm!?)
I am still a rookie - so forgive me for all the mistakes!

Thanks a lot for the help!
Cheers,
Misko

Steve Goldstein
26-Feb-2014, 12:10
I think your math is telling you the answer. I can't recall a 240 faster than f/6.8 (Caltar Type-Y == Rodenstock Ysarex, I believe) in a Copal 1. There are several f/9 choices (G-Claron, Docter Germinar-W, Fujinon-A, probably more). Any f/5.6 240 I can think of is in a Copal 3.

NickyLai
26-Feb-2014, 16:26
Schneider 240mm 1:5.5 Tele-Xenar most likely is in older shutter #1 .

Leigh
26-Feb-2014, 16:33
There's a Schneider Tele-Xenar 250/5.6 in a Copal 1.

My database has no Tele-Xenar 240, nor any at f/5.5, but that DB only has modern lenses.

- Leigh

brouwerkent
26-Feb-2014, 16:42
Misko

May I ask why you are concerned about the speed? At that focal length, a slower lens will be smaller, sharper and just fine. f9 at 240 is quite easy to focus... Lens speed is frankly overrated IMHO. In the olden days, fast lenses were desirable for street photographers working in low light with slow film. On large format, most shooters stop down...ie f32 or f45...for the shot.

Cheers

Phil

Hello