PDA

View Full Version : Can you change from copal to electronic shutter yourself?

philipkarlberg
19-Feb-2014, 01:24
Hi,

I am new here, so this is my first post. I have been a professional still life photographer for many years, and I have been using my Rollei X-act2 camera with rollei electronic shutters and lens control along with Hasselblad backs for 10 years now. I mostly have Schneider lenses but also a few Rodenstocks.

Now to my question. I am looking for a macro lens, and I am currently thinking about buying a Schneider 80mm/5.6 M. The problem is that Rollei does not exist anymore (at least so I have heard), and I don't know how to find anyone who could help me to put on a rollei electronic shutter, so I could use it with my rollei lens control device.

However, I do have a few rollei electronic shutters size #0 mounted on my old tele lenses that I used on my 4x5" camera before I went digital. So my question is, is it possible to buy a 80mm with copal shutter and change the shutter to a rollei electronic shutter yourself?

Another question I have is, what makes a size #0 a size #0? Is it the thickness of the whole shutter (the distance between the rear and front lens), or is it something else? I have noted that the diameter of the lens-fittings can vary, despite the size #0.

Best
Philip

Stockholm, Sweden

philipkarlberg
19-Feb-2014, 02:50
I think I found the answer myself. The rollei electronic shutters, seems to be programmed for a specific lens. So no, I can not do this myself.

Bob Salomon
19-Feb-2014, 05:52
The Rollei shutter is still available and you can remount a longer lens yourself. Short focal lengths have to be remounted on an optical bench. We market the Rollei shutter through both Rodenstock and Linhof.

Oren Grad
19-Feb-2014, 18:04
The problem is that Rollei does not exist anymore (at least so I have heard)...

http://www.dhw-fototechnik.de/en/bellows-camera/electronicshutter.html

Matted
30-Oct-2018, 08:33