PDA

View Full Version : Lenses for a Calumet NX

jrmst102
3-Feb-2014, 23:49
Hello there,

First at all, thanks for the support that I have received when looking for a 4x5 camera.

I have now a Calumet NX. It's in mint condition, really. I would like to get ahold of a good setup of lenses in this order:

a.- A standard lens (135mm, 150mm or 180mm). I do favor a lens between 150mm and 180mm but I have noticed a lot of photographers using 135mm as a standard.
b.- A wide-angle lens (75mm, 90mm). I am a bit scare of using the 75mm with the camera since I don't know it very well and I am not sure if I will need a wide angle bellows. Advices will be welcomed.
c.- A long lens (270mm, 300mm). I am not sure what is the longest lens that the Calumet NX will accept without having to add modifications. Advices will also be welcomed.
d.- A macro lens. I have found a Nikkor Macro lens. It seems like it do the work but I am not sure about the lens. I have never used a Nikkor lens before, only Schneider and other brands.

I do favor maximum apertures such as f5.6, I do hesitate with f8 or f9 as the maximum aperture for the lens, but is a personal preference.

I also like to mix ambient light with flash. In the past, I use to have continuous lighting but now I just have flashes. So, compatibility with flash will be preferred (although continous lights are quite cheap nowadays).

Many thanks for your kind suggestions.

mdarnton
4-Feb-2014, 05:38