PDA

View Full Version : 5x7 cameras and 6x17 photography

Travis
12-Sep-2004, 21:06
I'm new to this forum and I would like to say what a brilliant website you have created - such a wealth of information!

It has been ten years since I studied photography and used a studio 4x5 camera for 'table-top' commercial work. I have since worked in the film and TV industry with film cameras, but would now like to have a go at large format landscape photography (as a hobby). After quite a few months of research on the internet, I had pretty much decided to buy either a second hand Linhof Technorama or Fuji G617. However, the fact that they came with fixed lenses always worried me, because I knew that I would probably find this very limiting. I am aware that both manufacturers make models that allow a small selection of interchangable lenses, but the price of these quickly turned me off.

I recently discoved the Canham 6x17 roll back, which opened my eyes to the whole new possibility of the large format camera. I have since tried to research as much as I can on the internet about this 6x17 back and would like to discuss and confirm my findings.

It seems that a couple of 5x7 cameras have been specifically designed to take this 6x17 back, being the Canham MQC, the Walker Titan XL Wide and the Osaka (which can be adapted). I have also read that any camera that has a Graflok back will accept the 6x17 back. Does this require any further adaption, or will it simply attach to this sort of back? If so, surely this makes my options far greater when it comes to camera choice.

Ideally I would like to find a suitable second-hand 5x7 camera to use with this back, but failing that, the Osaka is appealing due to the fact it is about $1,000 cheaper than the MQC (unfortunately I DO have a small budget). Has anyone had any experience with the Osaka 5x7?