PDA

View Full Version : 135mm lens for architecture

Sazerac
26-Jan-2014, 08:52
Hello, I'm new to the LF world and am working on some architectural views of openings and entrances. The Sinar F that I got had a Nikkor-W 135/5.6 lens with it that seems to be working well, but I am wondering if there is another lens that I should be looking at for architectural work. I like the 135mm focal length and will probably add something in the 75mm and 300mm range later. All suggestions are welcome!

John Kasaian
26-Jan-2014, 09:38
Most architectural photographers I know live and breathe 90mm Super Angulons or the Nikkor/Grandagon equivalents.

Bernice Loui
26-Jan-2014, 10:49
For 4x5, the 90mm is often used with a bag bellows. The f4.5 versions have a larger image circle which is significant when greater camera movements must be used.

The 75mm, 65mm or shorter is used for cramped interiors spaces. These also are used with a bag bellows.

Limitations of the 135mm would be image circle, this would restrict the amount of camera movement possible. It might be better to upgrade to a wide angle lens of 120mm focal length if this becomes a problem.

A 300mm is often used for building detail images..

Do get a normal focal length lens too.

:)
Bernice

Hello, I'm new to the LF world and am working on some architectural views of openings and entrances. The Sinar F that I got had a Nikkor-W 135/5.6 lens with it that seems to be working well, but I am wondering if there is another lens that I should be looking at for architectural work. I like the 135mm focal length and will probably add something in the 75mm and 300mm range later. All suggestions are welcome!

Steve Goldstein
26-Jan-2014, 11:23