PDA

View Full Version : My "as is" Fuji 250 6.7

John Conway
24-Jan-2014, 15:30
I don't usually go for "as is" or bargain grade stuff because in the past I've had some bad experiences. But I have been looking for a 250 6.7 at a reasonable price . There are not many 6.7 250 fuji lenses around lately. And when they do pop up for sale , they are priced pretty high. So today one pops up on ebay for a buck thirty (#281251944785) . I knew this wasn't going to last long , it looked pretty decent , so I bought it. Now , seller described it as having no mounting ring , but in the picture , the lens is mounted to a board with some kind of ring. If I can make that ring work I'll be happy. If not , where do I get a ring ? Anyway , I think she will be a good performer . The issue with the front element seems minor.

Ari
24-Jan-2014, 17:02
It's a Seiko shutter, you might be in for a long search for that retaining ring.
It looks, from the photo, that it is front-mounted to the lens board; I've never seen it done that way with this lens before, but if it works, use it.

Jody_S
24-Jan-2014, 17:10
His 'S-I ring' is plainly a flange or retaining ring, so you should have no trouble mounting the lens. And I wouldn't worry about 'hairline scratches' to the front element, as described by a Japanese seller. I'm sure the lens will be fine, and a great bargain for the price.

BarryS
24-Jan-2014, 17:11
It looks like there's a flange instead of a retaining ring. Should work fine mounted to another board.

Steve Goldstein
24-Jan-2014, 17:15
If you really want a mounting ring, there's always SK Grimes. It may not be cheap, but it'll certainly be a thing of beauty.

John Conway
24-Jan-2014, 17:39
It's a Seiko shutter, you might be in for a long search for that retaining ring.
It looks, from the photo, that it is front-mounted to the lens board; I've never seen it done that way with this lens before, but if it works, use it.