PDA

View Full Version : Does anyone know why these problems occurred?

gorsescent
23-Jan-2014, 18:53
I've been shooting 4x5 for since 1994. However, I've never come across these problems.

Yesterday, for the first time in my life, the same problem happened to 3 of my 4x5 films.

I properly loaded these films into a film holder (as usual).

I properly loaded the film holder into the back of my 4x5 camera (as usual).

I properly (and carefully) developed the films in trays (as usual).

In short, I didn't do anything improper to the films.

I'm wondering if my 4x5 film holders caused these problems. I purchased several used film holders 3 months ago. They look very OK on the oustide. However, it's difficult to tell if every part of them is light tight.

Has anyone had the same problem?

Michael Clark
23-Jan-2014, 19:15
Maybe a light leak from the camera, bellows or the seat around the holder and camera back. The edges on the rebate of the film have not been fogged as bad as the rest of the neg.

AtlantaTerry
23-Jan-2014, 21:02
The only way to know if the holder or camera was at fault is to burn 6 more sheets of film.

3: put into the film holders then move them around in bright sun light. Don't put them into a camera. Develop.

If there are no fogging problems then try the next step.

3: put in a room with subdued light put into a camera, leave the lens cap on, remove the dark slide. Shine a bright light all around the camera. Develop.

While you are in the darkened room put a bright flashlight into the camera then move it around to see if the bellows have developed a light leak.

Are you sure the shutter fully closes? Remove the back but leave the lens in place. Use the bright flashlight to see if the lens or lens board has a light leak.

I believe if you do this, any problems will show up.

Lachlan 717
23-Jan-2014, 21:19
Process a single unexposed sheet to make sure that it's not film stock.

cyrus
23-Jan-2014, 22:14