PDA

View Full Version : Uneven Developement with Diafine - how to test properly?

zechi
21-Jan-2014, 15:41
Hi all,

I'm very new to self developing my 9x12cm black and white negatives (Fomapan 100) and am having trouble with uneven developement. I use Diafine, and a Paterson tank with the taco method, but I also got uneven developement when using trays.

I tried different agitation schemes from the box instructions to the method of "eye of wally" described here

eye of wally's method (http://www.flickr.com/groups/diafine/discuss/72157624165181643/)

.. always uneven development. It seems to me that the harder I agitate the better the negatives get - I ended up inverting for 30 seconds in A and B and after that 5 times every 30 seconds - almost continous agitation but still no even developement. My temps are fine and I used distilled water to mix the chemicals - I also use distilled water for the final rinse.

What would be the best method for testing or for working out a proper agitation scheme? Should I take some test shots of say, an evenly lit wall or is it possible to just take out a sheet of the film holder, expose it to daylight and develope the sheet? It should come out evenly dark shouldn't it? I find it hard to judge the developement of regular pictures sometimes, so I wanted to test in a more controlled manner.

Thanks in advance for your answers & all the best,

Christoph

Mark Woods
21-Jan-2014, 15:59
An evenly lit surface at about 18% will show off any problems you may have regarding development.

Ken Lee
21-Jan-2014, 16:10
You may find that development in a continuously moving motorized tank (at sufficient speed) eliminates the problem.

Nathan Potter
21-Jan-2014, 17:24