PDA

View Full Version : I need advice to buy 5x4 for interiors & architecture Im changing from using medium format

james silverman
8-Sep-2004, 07:23
I have spent weeks baffling about what to do

I have been using a medium format camera system a Bronica SQAI 6x6 to shoot interiors.Mainly homes. My work has appeared in magazines like House & Garden and Dwell. Ive used my camera to its limits.Im a freelancer and mainly my work is self financed which means laying out film costs and scanning costs which i try to keep to a minimum. The first issue I have with 5x4 is the film is expensive and I thought the only way to finance projects would be to shoot roll film unless commissioned.

I am British living in Sweden shooting architectural homes and have wondered if a field camera would hold too many restrictions for me.

My aim is to move on to shooting exteriors and interiors of large architectural buildings so I would think a monorail view camera would be more appropriate.

I looked at a Sinar F1 and SinarP2 and realised the construction of the P2 was robust and strong...however a studio based camera based on the weight..

Sometimes I shoot long exposures of 10mins-1hr and am worried about the wind moving my camera and also I shoot in the rain and snow so interested on opinions of shooting in these conditions.

I want to buy a 5x4 kit on the web, however I find all the people i phoneup to speak with unfriendly and patronising and always in a hurry.

So I have held off from buying anything.

wide angle and standard lenses are what i need ive been used to using 40mm+80mm lenses on my 6x6 so I guess thats like buying in 5x4 terms a 65 or 75 lens and a 150 lens.

I am also worried about the whole composing the image whilst being upside down ..however Ive been told i need a bino reflex for this and it will flip the image.