PDA

View Full Version : Plaubel 8x10

Arash
13-Jan-2014, 18:03
Hello everyone!

I'm going to buy an 8x10 camera, sadly the only thing i know until i meet the guy is that it is a Plaubel 8x10 with many different lenses(I think i heard schneider 121, 300 and a helium) and so on, Is there anything specific to look for when buying a Plaubel? how can i recognize the exact model? If i understand correctly there are two different models of Plaubel 8x10.

Is it as a whole a camera you would recommend? I'm new to largeformat and just bought my first cambo 4x5 and a super angulon 90. This 8x10 is not going to be cheap and i'm not sure if i can give it back afterwards so i better be as smart as i can be.

Also is there any way to test a polaroid 8x10 developer without the film? If i remember correctly our common friend said also something about an eastern german Zeiss Jena scanner back, have you heard of anything like that?

Regards,
Arash

Bob Mann
13-Jan-2014, 18:14
Lens boards can be hard to locate outside of Europe and tend to be expensive when they are for sale.

Arash
13-Jan-2014, 18:25
From what i've heard there are lens boards for all kinds of shutters included in the deal

Leigh
13-Jan-2014, 18:30
I have a 4x5 Plaubel studio camera. I believe it's the "Profia" model, but that name does not appear on it.

It's a very good camera, typical high German quality. Made in Frankfurt IIRC.

The company is still in business.

- Leigh

Arash
13-Jan-2014, 18:55
True leigh, I guess they are one of the most underappreciated camera makers who are still around after a hundred years.

There are 2 different Profia 8x10, Pico Profia NT and Pico Profia ZT, wanted to know what the different is and how to tell them apart.

David A. Goldfarb
13-Jan-2014, 19:02
Depending on the focal length, the Heliar is a very nice portrait lens. I use a 360mm on 8x10" (the very one in my avatar).

But if it's really a "helium" lens, you might need to weight it down.

Arash
13-Jan-2014, 19:25