PDA

View Full Version : Lighting up an underground football field with no electricity... HOW???

mortensen
12-Jan-2014, 13:19
Okay, I need some serious advice, fellow LF'ers.
I have the wonderful opportunity to photograph two enormous out-of-use freshwater reservoirs just outside Copenhagen - the largest being 11.500m2 (approx. 124.000 sq feet) and 9m ceiling height.
But, the only light source is the top latch, approx. 2m2, in one corner of the truly immense room. And there is no power supply down there.

What are my options?
- 'light paint' the room with multiple, powerful flashlights during long exposures?
- rent a small generator and 1-4 powerful lamps? (which would that be, btw??? I have no experience with lighting a scene like this...)
- some magic trick I don't know of...? (the probably won't allow me to use fireworks down there...)

Thanks in advance...

Tim Meisburger
12-Jan-2014, 13:45
Cave photographers still use flash powder sometimes, but as you say, they probably would not like that.

Tin Can
12-Jan-2014, 13:46
Look up cave photography with flash bulbs, if you were in Chicago, we could do it with the bulbs I have.

I can't wait to see what you do and shoot.

I have the wonderful opportunity to photograph two enormous out-of-use freshwater reservoirs just outside Copenhagen - the largest being 11.500m2 (approx. 124.000 sq feet) and 9m ceiling height.
But, the only light source is the top latch, approx. 2m2, in one corner of the truly immense room. And there is no power supply down there.

What are my options?
- 'light paint' the room with multiple, powerful flashlights during long exposures?
- rent a small generator and 1-4 powerful lamps? (which would that be, btw??? I have no experience with lighting a scene like this...)
- some magic trick I don't know of...? (the probably won't allow me to use fireworks down there...)

Thanks in advance...

gleaf
12-Jan-2014, 14:47