PDA

View Full Version : Pt/Pd printing using A+B Method

Cletus
10-Jan-2014, 06:51
So I've been doing Pt/Pd printing for going on two years now, always using the "Na2 Method" of contrast control. I've reached the point where I can get a good print from a good negative pretty reliably these days. Through testing, notes and experimentation, I can usually get a negative that prints nicely using no Na2 restrainer at all, just pure Palladium and pure Potassium Oxalate developer. I like the overall tone, or color, of prints made this way and have been generally satisfied.

As of yesterday and this morning, I'm trying something new (or old, depending on your POV), making some prints using the A+B Method, with BS Pt Sol #3 and FeOx #2. I haven't quite got it all down yet, but I've already noted a dramatic difference in print tone/color (using the Pt#3) and it appears, much more contrast control using the FeOx #2 as opposed to Na2.

With nothing really to compare to and only written material to refer to, I had always been under the impression that Na2 as restrainer offered pretty much the ultimate in contrast control and my experience has pretty much borne this out so far, although again, this is my first go with any other method.

I know we have a few seasoned and salty Pt/Pd printers here - I'd be very interested to hear your comments and opinions on your experiences with these two processes. If you've done both, which do you prefer? Why? Any big advantage to one over the other? There is a distinctive, warm sepia-like print color that seems to be unique to Palladium. How do you feel about the color, or tone of prints made with more Pt than Pd, or even pure Pt? Na2 doesn't appear to have much affect on print color, only contrast and printing speed, IME.