PDA

View Full Version : Would tis be a good 1st LF starter for $500?

PureQuill Photo
5-Jan-2014, 16:38
Hi a newbie here looking for a re-entry 4X5 outfit.
I know Sinar gear is Swiss made & was very expensive when new.
But I have no Idea what it is worth in todays market.
I also know that there are various Sinars F,F1,F2 P ect .
Looks like the F is the entry model.

Its primary use will be for landscapes/ Fine art photography.
Due to my age & health reasons I wont be backpacking to the shoot anymore.
I will have to trust my 4X4 to get me close to the location.

A Field camera would be optimum, but this might be what I need to get back into LF on a budget.
Your opinions & advise are much needed & appreciated
Thanks
PQ

http://portland.craigslist.org/mlt/pho/4269441039.html

Sinar F 4x5 Camera,

schneider-kreuznach symmar-s 5.6/210 Lens

Spare Sinar lens board

Polaroid 405 Instant Film Back (Film is still available in Fuji form)

Polaroid 545 film back (great if you have back stock polaroid film)

9 film holders

Stock 11'' rail unit

3 Custom machined rails at 12'' each each. Equals 3' when strung together for macro photography.

Comes with Pelican style case for camera.

Leonard Robertson
5-Jan-2014, 17:55