PDA

View Full Version : Best 210mm Lense for Artwork Reproduction

AJB
2-Sep-2004, 07:04
As stated in an earlier post, I am rather new to LF, moving up from 35mm digital. I would like to have some opinions as to which 210mm lense is the "best" lense for flat artwork reproduction. When I say "best," I mean sharpest, most color accurate, etc. I am overwhelmed with all of the choices ranging from Macro and APO to S-Type and N-Tpe. Any suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Thanks...

ronald moravec
2-Sep-2004, 07:37
My 210 G-Claron works fine in close up flat applications and works well as a landscape lens also. It only lacks a large aperature for viewing, then then again it is small and light weight

Michael Veit
2-Sep-2004, 07:43
I'd suggest the Eskofot-ultragon 210 to be had on ebay for $50.00 or less. Sharp as a tack and I even use it to shoot at infinity, though I think it's optimized for closer work. Don't spend more than you need to, the Ultragon was designed for reproduction work and should do everything you need.

Ted Harris
2-Sep-2004, 07:53
AJB,

While "best" is frequently in the eyes of the beholder in this case my recommendation would be to go with a G-Claron from Schneider, one of the Fuji 'A' series (eiether 180 or 24o in this case), Doctar Apo Germinar or similar offerings from Rodenstock. These are all process lenses which are maximally corrected for the distances at which you are most likely to be photographing flat art and anf are corrected for for fla subjects. they all work excellently as general purpose lenses as well.