PDA

View Full Version : Which Lense for Photographing Artwork???

AJB
2-Sep-2004, 06:45
I am relatively new to large-format photography, moving up from 35mm digital. I wanted to get opinions as to the best focal length lense for flat art work studio reproduction. I am not sure if I should go with a 150, 180 or 210. Please advise...

Frank Petronio
2-Sep-2004, 06:54
Usually people use a 210mm to 300mm lens for flat art repro. Unless you are shooting straight down, as in a copy stand situation, where your working distance might dictate a certain focal length. The slightly longer than normal focal lengths give you good working distances so you can light the subject evenly; they have less keystone types of distortions (than wider lenses); and their shorter depth of field allows you to decisively focus on the most important plane of the subject. That said, a 150 - 180 will work fine in most normal situations, but I'd opt for the 210 if I had the choice.

Jason Greenberg Motamedi
2-Sep-2004, 07:05
How large is the work you are photographing? For small paintings (up to 12" x 12" or so) I have found that my 240mm Fujinon-A is fantastic--very sharp, nice color reproduction. Any "flat field" lens (G-Claron, Apo-Ronar, or Apo-Artar) will work very well. Unfortunately however, these lenses are all maximum aperture f/9, and can be awful dark, particularly with polarizing filters on both lens and lights.

Large work I tend to use a normal 150mm plasmat (Symmar, Sironar, W, etc). They also work nicely, but doesn't work as well with higher magnification. The 180mm Fujinon-A might be a nice compromise.

I keep thinking of trying an enlarging lens, but haven't gotten around to it.

Gem Singer
2-Sep-2004, 07:43
Hi AJB,