PDA

View Full Version : Currently available VC papers?

Kirk Gittings
21-Dec-2013, 19:59
I've run out of my "stash" of variable contrast papers and need to restock. I'm looking for a very neutral paper that will tone cool purple in selenium and a warm based paper that will stay slightly warm when selenium toned. Please give me your thoughts on current paper/developer combinations. Thanks.

Erik Larsen
21-Dec-2013, 21:15
I'm partial to ilford warmtone, it's not the warmest out there compared to foma for example but it has a great look IMO using regular old dektol and krst. For that purple look you might try oriental, it goes quite purple in krst with a longish time in the toner or perhaps the new ilford cool tone paper might fit your criteria but I have no experience with it yet. I think we are spoiled at the moment with a good variety of multigrade options.

Jan Pedersen
21-Dec-2013, 21:27
As Erik I am also partial to Ilford warmtone, it just have the right amount of warm tone without being completely brown.
The new offerings from Ilford sounds very interesting. The classic MGIV IV has been reformulated to accept toners better and is now called Classic and in addition, a new Cooltone paper is also available from Ilford.
They just became available this last week except for those priviledged to have been testing these new papers.

Merg Ross
21-Dec-2013, 22:34
I've run out of my "stash" of variable contrast papers and need to restock. I'm looking for a very neutral paper that will tone cool purple in selenium and a warm based paper that will stay slightly warm when selenium toned. Please give me your thoughts on current paper/developer combinations. Thanks.