PDA

View Full Version : Boycott digital?

Christopher Nisperos
29-Aug-2004, 19:28
Upon seeing the title of this thread, you probably thought, "Oh brother, doesn't this guy know it's too late?"

Well, please don't think I'm naïve. I have worked in the photo industry, on and off, for over thirty years. In 1974, at 18 years old, I was a tech rep for EPOI, the then Nikon/Mamiya/Durst/Sinar-Bron distributor. I learned early-on about the power of marketing and I saw that small ideas could ripple-out and have big effects. I used that concept years later when I helped Guy Gerard introduce his Bergger products to the U.S. marketplace, writing the original English-languages press releases, personally planting the idea that his Forte/BPF200 was a Super-XX lookalike and introducing him to LotusViewCamera.

If you're reading this, whomever you are and whatever your level of competency and expertise, I consider you my colleaugue. You may even be as passionate about black & white traditional photography as I am. So, dear colleague, speaking to you from the heart, I'll admit to you that I'm very upset by the recent news of Ilford and Agfa going out of the black & white business. Alot of good people are jobless and many of us are looking for books on filmmaking, and I don't mean cinema!

Digital has kicked traditional's butt, while it's not really a "one or the other" contest. We who use film and photographic paper are saddened and perhaps panicked (sic) by the prospect of having to scramble around for our supplies, and then pay through the nose once we actually find them. Just today I saw a comment on a thread dating from February of this year, "Don't worry, film and paper will be here and plentiful for many years to come". I want badly that this be true, don't you?