PDA

View Full Version : How do you deal with snow / inclement weather?

StoneNYC
10-Dec-2013, 07:02
If this is in the wrong forum, mods please feel free to move it.

So I'm relatively new to LF photography. This will be my first winter shooting with my 4x5.

I've looked online and seen a Thone of pictures of guys in snowsuits carrying around their LF cameras with snow completely covering the Bellows.

But my question is how do you deal with this, do you put some kind of coating over it? Or do you just let the moisture collect and then try the camera after you get back from the outside?

I can see only needing to cover the lens which can be done with a bellows shade extension, and the back area of the camera covered by a dark cloth, and the dark cloth is washable dryable etc.

But what about the rest?

What should I do? It's snowing out right now and I want to shoot it but don't want to ruin my equipment either.

Thanks!

jp
10-Dec-2013, 07:14
I usually use a speed graphic outside and it's bellows are slightly rubberized. Never a problem. Just gotta keep the lens clean/dry. A barrel lens is easier in that respect as there are no levers for shutter. Since I like soft focus, Reinhold's meniscus is very snow proof and has a long shade built into it. (The glass is recessed)

I am usually a major proponent of the tiltall tripod but it's not an ideal winter tripod. The leg fittings can freeze up and can be hard to adjust with mittens/gloves. Something with levers for locking the legs would be better.

I do use my B&J 8x10 in the snow sometimes too. When using that, I keep the lens off it till the last minute. I use my jacket for a dark cloth and am a suffering artist for just a couple minutes while composing/focusing. The bellows have gotten wet but it hasn't hurt anything.