PDA

View Full Version : Very weird 8x10 Hp5 processing problem..

Dennis
4-Dec-2013, 10:57
I have a problem processing 8x10 Hp5 that I am clueless about.
First let me say I am not a newbie, I have been processing 8x10 film for 30 years.

I process a variety of 8x10 film. My norm is Fp4 or TMY or Arista EDU. I process in trays, only a few sheets at a time, and I have fined tuned my technique so that I very rarely get a scratch or any mottling. For about 7 years now I have used LFN wetting agent before hanging film to dry. Before that I used photo flo for many years.

A couple of weeks ago I processed some film for a friend. Mostly Hp5 and one sheet of TXP. My normal routine, extra careful because it was someone else's film.
The TXP came out absolutely perfect on base and emulsion. Not a scratch or streak or any mottling at all. The Hp5 all came out looking horrible with strange patterns of residue on the base and finger prints that looked etched into the base. It was covered in straight vertical scratches on the base ( that didn't print). The biggest problem were the smears of residue all over every sheet's base. All the emulsion sides were fine. I tried everything to get the residue marks off, alcohol, rewashing, refixing with hardner, re wetting with photoflo instead of LFN. Nothing affected the problem. I wrote it off as an anomaly and hoped never to see it again.

Yesterday same friend brought another box of film, 3 sheets TXP and 4 sheets Hp5. I did as before, presoaked, processed in Xtol, stopped with a little stop bath and fixed in kodak rapid fix. I washed them in an archival washer and wetted them in photoflo and hung them to dry without heat. The same thing happened as the first time. The 3 TXP sheets were absolutely flawless. No mark no mottling no scratches, they are beautiful. The Hp5 looks like film from Hell. Covered in residue patterns that seem to have texture etched into the base and they are all covered in the light vertical scratches.