PDA

View Full Version : The World Upside Down (Kickstarter project to fund 7x17 inch color special order)

photoevangelist
15-Nov-2013, 00:31

First of all let me say, I'm not good with words. I'm like probably 99.99% of you. I'd rather be out there making pictures than sitting in front of this damned computer. But I do need to get the word out, because this is not something I cannot do on my own. I need help. Every little bit helps.

I've been very grateful to all the members on this forum that have helped equip me with the knowledge and tools of large format. Perhaps with some support from you I can send you a print or post card from South Korea of my work for your generosity.

I purchased a 7x17 camera around a year ago (thinking I'd skip the other formats-ha!), but had to have it sent to fixed by the esteemed Mr. Richard T. Ritter. While that was in the shop for several months, I purchased a 5x7 fixer upper and learned about the basic make of a large format camera. I have made some truly beautiful images with it since. I purchased a slightly faulty 8x10, fixed it up and began playing with the ever-so-special, 8x10 x-ray film. I photographed 55 of my students and exhibited the work in June. The 8x10 is now being used to document the Daegu, South Korea monorail. It's been a busy, fun, and expensive year! I'm now very comfortable shooting large format, and processing and handling the large film, scanning and printing it.

I'm now (almost) ready to dive into 2014 shooting almost exclusively with the 7x17.