PDA

View Full Version : Things to know about a "commission"

Angelo Micheletti
16-Aug-2004, 14:04
At a Arts and Crafts show, the owner of a local restaurant asked me about doing some photographs of his gardens (which are quite beautiful) and making prints to hang in the restaurant. If I take this on, I plan on charging an hourly fee for taking the photos with my Linhof 4x5 and providing proofs with additional charges if he orders prints. Is there somewhere that talks about legalities, contracts, things to watch out for, etc for commissioned work.

Angelo Micheletti

Ralph Barker
16-Aug-2004, 15:13
The primary legal areas that affect your arrangement are probably basic contract law and copyright law, I'd think (note that I'm NOT a lawyer, however). The main point is to make sure that you understand what he wants, and he understands that you still hold the copyright and what he can do with his prints is limited. Getting that mutual understanding in writing is important, of course.

Take a look at the copyright information on the business resources page on PhotoDistrict News Online at:

http://www.pdnonline.com/photodistrictnews/store/index.jsp

A couple of good books on the topic are "ASMP Professional Business Practices in Photography" and "Pricing Photography" by Heron and MacTavish, both published by Allworth Press. There are sample contracts in these books that you may be able to adapt to your situation.

Ellis Vener
16-Aug-2004, 16:37
I suggest you chage a project fee ( creative fee + expenses) for the project rather than an hourly fee. The creative fee should reflect your best realistic estimate of how long the project might take, but leaves you the option of going there and then deciding to come back one day when the light is better in different parts ofthe garden.

Andre Noble
16-Aug-2004, 19:43