PDA

View Full Version : Pros And Cons Of Linhof Super Technika 1V

Johnny Reno
12-Nov-2013, 08:52
I have been using a Crown Graphic. I had a Technika of some number long long ago. I am thinking about a Tech IV. I hate the limitations of the Crown. I do primarily pictorial and architectural. Lenses would range from 90 and longer. The main lens will be a 135mm. I need to have a cam for 135mm. Who does repairs if I need them for the cam? Tell me what to look for and what to avoid. I have a budget but it is not huge. I want the best model for the money. I have been using 4 x 5 off and on for 40 years but it has been mostly view cameras in the studio. Thanks

Bob Salomon
12-Nov-2013, 09:22
Precision Photo in Niles IL does Linhof camming
Nippon Poyo in Mnhattan doe the rest of the repairs.

Darin Boville
12-Nov-2013, 09:27
Have you used a Technika yet? It is much, much heavier than the Crown Graphic. Much nicer in many ways but the weight difference is dramatic.

--Darin

karl french
12-Nov-2013, 09:33
If you're going to use a 90mm lens frequently the front rise set up introduced with the Technika V is easier to use. Plus you get the standardized film plane/ground glass with the Tech V.
After many Technikas (IV, V and a few Masters) I've come to the conclusion that the Tech V represents the most bang for the buck.

Vick Ko
12-Nov-2013, 09:48
Used to be Marflex that does camming,

http://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/showthread.php?98043-Marflex-retired-Nippon-Photoclinic-Linhof-Wista-USA-service-center

Vick Ko
12-Nov-2013, 09:49
Tech IV would be fine, but I went to the Tech V, for the lever rise (vs knob) and hoping there are internal mechanical and design improvements beyond the IV.

I had a Master, but it was too much of a collector piece to keep.

Len Middleton
12-Nov-2013, 10:31