PDA

View Full Version : sinar large format camera with lots of goodies..my new toy!

rayhobart
3-Nov-2013, 13:42
well here i go again into a new hobby.. the camera is a p2 i was told..lots of goodies were included...4x5...has set up for 5x7..also some 8x10 stuff..im still learning guys so please be gentle with me...thx Ray...
P.s. if its not a p2 please let me know lol

Amedeus
3-Nov-2013, 14:15
Sinar P2 with digital Expolux shutter ... nice catch !

Leigh
3-Nov-2013, 17:54
Very nice.

You must use Sinar "DB"-mounted lenses with this shutter. Standard lenses in shutter won't work (in general).

There is a maximum depth behind the lensboard that the shutter can occupy without damaging the shutter.
Factory-assembled lenses won't have a problem, but hobbyist-mounted ones might.

You can use standard lenses with shutters, mounted on regular lensboards, if you remove the shutter from behind
the front standard.

Unless you're doing serious close-ups or using very long lenses, you'll probably want to remove one of the bellows and
the associated intermediate frame.

You might want to download the PDF of the Sinar Code document from Butkus at www.orphancameras.org
It shows all of the components and various configurations for the Sinar product line.

- Leigh

Nathan Potter
3-Nov-2013, 18:03
Gadzooks; what a contraption! But a nice piece of equipment. As Leigh says you're all set for close-up or long lens work. But it's a heck of a piece of gear to haul around in the field.

Definitely something fun to work with but for me the stability of the tripod would be insufficient.

Nate Potter, Austin TX., Holliston MA.

rayhobart
3-Nov-2013, 23:18
Thanks Leigh... manual is very helpful.. i got the camera in this configuration... would like to set it up for portraits..Im trying to figure if i should use the expolux,or the behind lens shutter or the copals on my lenses ..if this makes sense? Best all around lens for portraits? (i may have one?)..thx guys for all your help

Leigh