PDA

View Full Version : Does travel cause sheet film to shift in holders?

AtlantaTerry
31-Oct-2013, 11:51
Earlier this month I drove about 150 miles out to the set of a period motion picture film to create portraits of some of the actors in mid-1840s costume. Sadly, it rained so I could not create one portrait. Then, of course, I had to drive back home.

Then I did the same thing this past weekend - I drove 300 miles round trip again. This time I was able to create portraits of four of the actors.

When I got back I had 18 sheets of film exposed. But when I tried to remove the sheets of Arista.EDU Ultra 100 to develop them, about 1/3 had shifted inside their holders. So much so that I had to actually struggle to get them out.

I know how to load sheet film holders, I've been doing it for 50 years. So I assume I'm loading correctly. Can long distance driving actually cause film to shift in the holders?

BTW, the negatives show the blank areas along the five inch sides to be uneven therefore at some point prior to being exposed, the sheets of film shifted.

I carry the film with the dark slide handles facing down in an old Speed Graphic case. I will be going back to the film set this weekend and am considering using the same film holders but this time transporting them flat, just to see what happens.

I store my processed 4x5 film in acid-free Print File Archival pages (4 to a page) after writing information on the negatives with an India Ink pen.