PDA

View Full Version : Wide angle with good coverage for a 5x4 Speed Graphic?

Ektar
26-Oct-2013, 17:45
Hi,

I'm new to LF and would really appreciate some advice. I'm looking to get a lens in the 24mm to 28mm (35mm equivalent) range for interiors in relatively confined spaces. It would have to have enough coverage to allow me to correct for converging verticals. The final print sizes will probably be no bigger than 12x16 and black and white. I don't want to spend too much and was hoping to get something for a few hundred pounds or less. Is there anything that would fit the bill?

Cheers,
Bruce

EdSawyer
26-Oct-2013, 18:01
Nikon 90 f8

Peter De Smidt
26-Oct-2013, 18:04
Perhaps one of the 90mm F8 lenses would work? Rodenstock, Fuji, Schneider, Nikon, they should all be pretty good. They've been made for a long time, and there's lots of examples out there. They are a little dimmer than the F6.8 or F5.6 versions out there, but those will be larger and more expensive lenses. If it's an older lens, make sure the shutter is working well, or be prepared to have it cleaned and adjusted.

Ed beat me to it. The Nikon has more coverage than the others listed, and it's a little more expensive as a result.

Michael Clark
26-Oct-2013, 20:18
I used a 90mm anglon on my 4x5 speed graphic, but had to drop the bed to prevent the the focusing tracks out of the image area.It's not a problem with the 127mm.

Mike

IanG
27-Oct-2013, 01:40
I also use a 90mm f6.8 Angulon on my Graphics, not a lot of coverage if you want to use movements. I've used a 75mm f8 Super Angulon a couple of times as well but it's normally fixed on my 617 camera,

Ian

Ektar
27-Oct-2013, 02:41