PDA

View Full Version : Info/value on Gudlach Korona VI Special

dhsellsworth
3-Oct-2013, 21:25
Hey there,
New to the forum, and looking for some advice since I'm new to all of this. I recently came into a collection of antique cameras that have been in my family storage for years, the best (I think) being this beautiful Korona VI Special. It is in great condition, but does not have the lens. I have done a ton of research trying to get an idea of how much it is worth, but have been unable to find this specific model. I would like to put it up for sale once I have a good idea of its value.

I also found a couple of antique lenses that I may post in the lens forum once I clean them up a little, including a Gunlach-Manhattan 9in Equal Diffusion lens and a brass O.H. Peck engraved 6.5"x8.5" lens. I also found what I believe to be is a Seneca Competitor 2 camera, but I am doing more research on that.

Anyway, any advice or knowledge would be much appreciated, and thanks in advance!

Steven Tribe
4-Oct-2013, 00:57
This was made between 1896 and 1902.
Like almost all companies at this time, there was an awful lot of amalgamation of companies. Grundlach joined with Korona in 1892 and then with Manhattan in 1902.
This is a long focus cycle type camera - for the "serious amateur". I can't find this particular model in the catalogues on-line. You should try and find a catalogue from around 1898. All these camera are well designed and with a very good finish - if they have been looked after. They were were usually made in all sizes between 4x5" and 8x10". Value is not dramatic, but will depend on condition, size and presence of plate holders.

goamules
4-Oct-2013, 07:21