PDA

View Full Version : Looking for advice on restoring my Deardorff

Willem.B
24-Sep-2013, 15:21
Hi, I've got a fairly beat up new-to-me Deardorff 8x10. Its been pretty worn, I plan to get some new bellows, and I want to refinish it and clean up the hardware. Doesn't look like any breaks anywhere and the wood isn't cracked -- just heavily scratched and worn.

I'm not experienced with this kind of work, and so I guess I'm reaching out there to anyone who's done something like this before. Should I just start taking the screws out and disassembling it? Do I sand or scrape the leftover finish off the wooden parts? Will the screws still bite in the same place once I take them out?

Any advice will be welcome. I'm going to be learning in real time as I go, I'm just wondering what the first step should be. Thanks,

W

John Kasaian
24-Sep-2013, 17:58
If you need any parts, you can order them from Ken Hough
http://deardorffcameras.0catch.com/
and he can talk you through the installation over the phone if you get stuck.
I took the frame out of the rear standard on mine and IRRC the old screws fit when I reinstalled it.

Jac@stafford.net
24-Sep-2013, 18:55
Take pictures as you work so that you don't forget what screws, etc. go where.

I use a straight-edge scraper on surfaces. Don't apply with too much vigor. Many gentle draws are better than a few firm ones.

And do not scrape, sand, or otherwise change the dimensions that effect the registration of the film holder to the camera, or back to the ground glass.

Enjoy!

ic-racer
24-Sep-2013, 20:33
This thread may give you some ideas:
http://www.largeformatphotography.info/forum/showthread.php?29267-Here-we-go-Century-8x10-Restoration

John Koehrer
26-Sep-2013, 15:49
It's time consuming but not difficult and VERY satisfying.

You're going to need a properly fitted screwdriver, you may need to file or grind a tip to fit but it saves damaging a finished piece from slipping out of a screw slot it's well worth it.