PDA

View Full Version : Handling sheet film (loading/unloading holders)

Calamity Jane
4-Aug-2004, 09:23
I have been doing 35mm and 120 darkroom work since 1969 but have just started in 4x5 and I am finding my sheet film mechanics VERY challenging!

Loading the holders isn't too bad, though I must have put a wet finger on the edge of 2/3 of a package of E-6 because the whole batch shows chemical contamination in the middle of the notched edge.

When unloading the 4x5 holders, I am absolutely stumped on how to lift the sheet off the holder back without getting my fingernail under the film and pinching it with my thumb to slip it out - result: numerous thumb prints in the middle of the notched edge.

I guess I am just a very "tactile" person :-)

I also haven't found a good clip to hold the sheets while drying.

If any of you experienced LF processors that can offer suggestions, they will be GREATLY appreciated!

Frank Lahorgue
4-Aug-2004, 09:45
After trying several alternatives, I bought a set of Jobo sheet film clips. B&H has them -- B&H#JOFCS. They are pricey but I know of nothing else that works as well. Also, B&H has used ones for a more reasonable price.

Jim Rice
4-Aug-2004, 09:59
I too use the fingernail and thumb method. I'm not aware that any other exists. Just try to minimize the surface area of thumb applied.

Ralph Barker
4-Aug-2004, 10:18
I also use the fingernail technique, but find it helpful to wash (and thoroughly dry) my hands immediately prior to handling film. That minimizes any natural skin oils that might cause a problem. Occasionally, a sheet will cling stubbornly to the backing plate, and a puff of air will help lift the edge.