PDA

View Full Version : How many 4x5 sheets per E6 kit?

Paul Ewins
3-Aug-2004, 18:37
I've been developing B&W 4x5 successfully for a few years now and thought I'd like to try E6. I bought the Tetenal 500ml 3 step kit and that worked well, but I had trouble working out exactly how many sheets I could develop before the chemicals were exhausted. In most cases the first developer appears to be the critical factor.

I tried the manufacturers websites, but only Agfa had any details that I could find. If anybody is using the home E6 kits (500ml -> 5 litre) from Tetenal, Agfa, Kodak, Paterson, Photochem, Fuji etc I'd be interested in knowing how many 4x5 sheets you can process from each kit. FWIW, I'm processing on a JOBO CPP in 2500 series tanks.

thanks,

Paul

Larry Gebhardt
3-Aug-2004, 19:17
You can get 60 rolls out of a 5 liter Tetenal 3 bath kit, so 240 sheets of 4x5. I usually mix up 750ml at a time and do 3 batches of 12 sheets each. I have never had any problems doing this, with the first and last sheets coming out visibly the same.

Nick_3536
3-Aug-2004, 20:23
4 4x5 sheets equals one 8x10 sheet. 1 8x10 is supposed to equal 1 36 exposure 35mm roll. The instructions may give numbers for square inches of film.

Calamity Jane
4-Aug-2004, 06:15
I have been using two Agfa AP-44 500 mL kits for E-6 in a Combi-Plan tank but I have never exhausted the chemisty!

Because the first developer goes into a dry tank, there is a small volume loss from the first devloper. Since the Combi requires 1.050 L and the 2 AP-44 kits make 1.000 L, I start getting an undeveloped edge after about 50 sheets.

Next batch of AP-44, I am going to make 5% more dilute and wet the film/tank prior to first developer. Agfa advise this will require a longer first developer time. Normal first devloper time is 7:30 so I'll try 8:00 and see what happens.

Nick_3536
4-Aug-2004, 07:18