PDA

View Full Version : BACK of the camera wont close properly, help

kevs-2323668
20-Sep-2013, 10:26
Back of my sinar is supposed to close flush left. I have no idea what going on, but now I cannot load film. any ideas? thanks:

jackpie
20-Sep-2013, 15:52
Looks like the Graflock bars have slid closed and are catching the back mechanism. Try pushing them out of the way.

kevs-2323668
20-Sep-2013, 19:52
Jack, thanks, I'm a newbie, this is Sinar btw. Don't know even what Graflock bars refer to and where to push, so unless you can make a quick video, maybe I can PM you?

AtlantaTerry
21-Sep-2013, 00:41
Just look closely. Surely you will find Part A interfering with Tab B.

All seriousness aside, Graflok bars are along the top and bottom edges of the film back. They slide to grip optional film devices such as roll film holders and Polaroid backs. When not in use gripping something they should be slide along their tracks to a neutral position. Usually they are two long thick bars of chromed flat metal with a bit sticking up on one end that allows you to push on it.

Sorry, I can't help more, I own Cambo cameras, not Sinar.

Tracy Storer
21-Sep-2013, 11:41
It's a little hard to tell from your photo,
1. is the ground glass even attached?
2. Are the silver parts with the hooked ends stuck in that "distended" position? If so, you have a small problem I used to see with Cambo cameras when newbies pulled the GG frame too far away from the body of the camera and the spring that holds the hooked parts pops out of place.

Answering these two questions will help us help you.

Jim Andrada
22-Sep-2013, 21:38
What Tracy said.