PDA

View Full Version : kodak enlarging ektanon f:4.5 10in

TimeShare
13-Sep-2013, 08:22
Would anyone have experience with this lens for 8x10 format ?

Appropriate coverage for 8x10 ?

Quality ?

Thank you

Tin Can
13-Sep-2013, 08:28
I just put one in a Elwood 8x10 enlarger, but I bet you want to shoot with it.

Mine is new to me, so I have no experience either way, except right now it seems to be fine on the enlarging easel. I am playing with light bulbs...

TimeShare
13-Sep-2013, 08:29
Yes, I would like to shoot with it on a Kodak Eastman No.2 8x10 view camera

ic-racer
13-Sep-2013, 08:37
I just put one in a Elwood 8x10 enlarger, but I bet you want to shoot with it.

Mine is new to me, so I have no experience either way, except right now it seems to be fine on the enlarging easel. I am playing with light bulbs...

From Camerapedia:

These 4 element Tessar design lenses were used on large format enlargers where relatively small enlargements were needed.

Since 16x20" is only 2x that lens might work fine for most of your enlarging needs, unless you are going real big. Let us know how it works out.

TimeShare
13-Sep-2013, 08:57
From Camerapedia:

Since 16x20" is only 2x that lens might work fine for most of your enlarging needs, unless you are going real big. Let us know how it works out.

I actually want to shoot with it, not use it on an enlarger. It would be used on an 8x10 Kodak Eastman

Ari
13-Sep-2013, 09:16
It is possible to use an enlarging lens as a taking lens, but you won't know if you like the results until you try.
Shoot with it, and let us know how it looks to you.

TimeShare
13-Sep-2013, 15:53
It is possible to use an enlarging lens as a taking lens, but you won't know if you like the results until you try.
Shoot with it, and let us know how it looks to you.

I would love to but I haven't bought it yet ... LOL ... I was trying to establish if it covers 8x10 before I purchased it.

Peter De Smidt
13-Sep-2013, 16:47