PDA

View Full Version : Starting Out in LF

Trenchleton
11-Sep-2013, 19:04
Howdy! I just found my way into an Omega 45E with a Schneider-Kreuznach Xenar 210mm f6.1 lens. I'm new to this, though accustomed to medium and small formats for several years now. My biggest concern has been whether or not to invest in a daylight tank for film, or whether to go with trays. I'm used to developing rolls in tanks, but I am pretty comfortable in the dark. Thoughts?

Side note: excited to be entering into the larger world. Thanks for having me here.

Leigh
11-Sep-2013, 19:53
Hi, and welcome aboard.

I generally prefer daylight tanks for 4x5, although I've used trays occasionally. I use trays for 8x10.

There are several different daylight tanks available for 4x5, differing in both type and detail.
I don't know of any that are perfect.

I prefer the squarish tanks that hold the film relatively flat, vertically, as opposed to those that
try to twist it around in a circle.

I expect you'll get a lot of different opinions.
Everybody tends to promote the technique with which they achieve the best success.

- Leigh

John Kasaian
11-Sep-2013, 20:23
If you're shooting B&W give trays a try first. You may like it! Don't spend money on more gear unless you have too (you'll spend enough of that on film, paper and chemicals)

ic-racer
11-Sep-2013, 22:04
Howdy! I just found my way into an Omega 45E with a Schneider-Kreuznach Xenar 210mm f6.1 lens. I'm new to this, though accustomed to medium and small formats for several years now. My biggest concern has been whether or not to invest in a daylight tank for film, or whether to go with trays. I'm used to developing rolls in tanks, but I am pretty comfortable in the dark. Thoughts?

Side note: excited to be entering into the larger world. Thanks for having me here.

I'd start with inexpensive trays. Some of the alternative processing equipment can be pretty expensive, so getting some LF experience first may help your choice of the following: