PDA

View Full Version : New to large format; questions!

tar4heel2
1-Sep-2013, 09:19
I saw a Calumet 4x5 that seemed to be in pretty good shape, but I have no idea. She wanted $450 for it, but on Ebay I'm seeing anywhere from $150 to $400. It had 6 holders, a Polaroid attachment w/ 6 "films" but they appear to be old.

I have been shooting digital for almost 10 years, and have never done LF.

1) Where do you guys buy film
2) Where do you do your processing
3) " " " do your scanning

Thanks! Any thoughts would be appreciated!!

Phil

AJ Edmondson
1-Sep-2013, 09:32
Sort of depends on which model... as far as film, Freestyle or B&H are great sources and are reliable! As far as processing and scanning, home darkroom.
As far as the Polaroid - my opinion only - I wouldn't pay the shipping if it was free (again, that is only my opinion). You don't indicate whether you are leaning towards monorail or folding so it is difficult to offer advice.

Joel

biedron
1-Sep-2013, 09:48
Phil,

Welcome! Do give LF a try - it is very rewarding.

1) Where do you guys buy film

Badger: http://www.badgergraphic.com/store/cart.php?m=product_list&c=235

plus the usual suspects like B&H and Adorama

Some folks here also use Freestyle: http://www.freestylephoto.biz/category/1-Film

2) Where do you do your processing

I use Edgar Praus: http://www.4photolab.com/

But there are many others

3) " " " do your scanning

At home on an Epson V700/V750 for modest-size prints. For that special shot printed large, get a quality drum scan from Lenny Eiger: http://www.eigerphoto.com/services_technology_ep.php or James Beck: http://www.jamesbeckdigital.com/jbdscans/home.html

Bob

Tin Can
1-Sep-2013, 10:03
Does that camera come with a lens?

Almost the most important part of a camera.

I prefer to buy complete rigs with working everything, lens, shutter, camera, light tight bellows, good holders, even a case. I don't worry about ground glass as I often replace it with new.