PDA

View Full Version : Taking a "Bath" in glass....

Kodachrome25
30-Aug-2013, 07:46
Well boy do I feel really stupid, as a business owner I usually make more sound decisions than this, but here goes:

When I first started out in LF a bit over a year ago, I did not know how much things really cost. So I sought out what I thought were ideal lenses initial lenses for me and they indeed did turn out to be great. I located and bought a 90 Caltar, 135 Apo Sironar N and 180 Apo Symmar, all have worked great. The 135 was and is the most important focal length for me, it just works. But I made a mistake in getting what I did, mostly in what I paid for it...and now I am fully taking a beating on the re-sale. I hunted high and low for a good used 135mm Apo Sironar N and was finding that ebay auctions were closing at around $400 for a good used one, but none were to be found. So I bought a like new one from KEH for over $600.

The lens turned out to be bitingly sharp, the most impressive lens I have had up to date, even more so than the famed Fuji 240A, etc. And it is tiny too, really nice as a super light lens for hiking. But I got the itch to try out the much heralded fatter sister, the S, talk about a hard lens to find used for a decent price. One finally came up in the classifieds on here so I took the plunge and got it, not a deal by any stretch but not far off what they seem to go for.

So now I am so frustrated, I feel like selling the S before I even get a chance to use it because I can not even get a lousy $350 for my N version, it just sits in the corner of my office unused. I don't need a lens collection, I need a working tool kit.

Anyone want to buy an S? Because no one seems to want to buy the N for even half of what I paid for it...:mad:

Corran
30-Aug-2013, 07:58
Looking at the big picture, that's not much of a loss.
Consider for a moment what new glass costs.
Think of it as a rental fee and move on :)

vinny
30-Aug-2013, 08:09