PDA

View Full Version : Bausch and Lomb Tessar series 1c

photonfixer
25-Aug-2013, 12:56
hi, I'm relatively new to LF and looking for a portrait lens that will give me that antique soft focus look without breaking the bank (I can't afford the likes of a Cooke PS945) to use on my Sinar Norma. I've come across the Bausch and Lomb Tessar series 1c f4.5, does anyone have experience of using this lens? Most of the ebay listings I see for this lens come without a shutter, what shutter would I need for this lens?

thanks

Jon Shiu
25-Aug-2013, 13:00
Hi, I advise to buy it already mounted in the shutter. Otherwise the lens cells may not fit into a standard shutter without custom made fittings, ie expensive.

Jon

Dan Fromm
25-Aug-2013, 13:36
+1 to Jon's comment.

Y'know, age notwithstanding f/4.5 Tessars are modern lenses with the modern look. If you want the antique look, underexpose, overdevelop, and do your best to age the prints rapidly.

Steven Tribe
25-Aug-2013, 14:32
4x5"?

Meniscus landscape/portrait lenses in shutter from the 1890's are available at reasonable cost. Or similar, Rapid Rectilinear/Aplanat.

John Kasaian
25-Aug-2013, 14:59
The B&L Tessar 1c is discussed in an article on the LF Home Page, with examples. Click on LF Home Page on the blue banner at the top of this page and go to the articles on lenses. You'll find it in there.

photonfixer
26-Aug-2013, 01:03
thanks everyone for replying, will give it some thought whether it's really the right lens for my purposes

Crombie
28-Feb-2017, 15:39
I just picke-up a 4x5 f4.5 B&L-Zeiss Tessar series 1c stamped with Pat Feb 1903 serial #1259269. It's in excellent condition. Any idea of it's focal length and it a lense worth getting mounted in a shutter?

Thanks!

Steven Tribe
28-Feb-2017, 16:12
Focal length is 6 1/2".
Worth mounting in a shutter? I would say no. This is a common lens and often available in a shutter. You will have to buy a similar lens in a shutter to get hold of the right shutter.