PDA

View Full Version : JOBO Repair Hostage Taking

Michael Kadillak
26-Jul-2004, 22:41
After five years of pretty heavy use, my CPP2 finally needed to go back to JOBO for a repair inspection. Upon contacting the service tech today, he advised me on removing the power/motor unit from the base unit and then told me that they are a bit behind to the tune of five weeks currently but would give it a trouble shooting inspection on a best effort basis for $55. What really chapped my ass was the way he brought to my attention a "professional" expedited service that would get my unit looked at no more than 10 days upon its receipt for an additional $75.

As a small business owner I was rather shocked with this attitude simply because if the workload is real, whats wrong with the good old business model of just hiring another tech or two to respond to customer demand and prevent ALL customers from excessively waiting. IMHO it has nothing to do with professionalism more than it has to do with the almightly dollar. Any real JOBO user is dead in the water without their unit and would (probably) fork over the $75. The guy that is willing to wait could be regularly getting trumped by the way that they prioritize their service department without even knowing about it.

I have another JOBO unit to use in the interim, but I wanted to see if anyone else is running into a similar situation and what we could collectively do about it. JOBO is one of the companies that I felt was on their A game, but this is a set back as far as I am concerned.

Cheers!

Paul Kierstead
26-Jul-2004, 22:49
With the market practically being flooded with used units on the cheap, and sales in general probably dropping like a rock, I would be surprised if you could get it serviced at all in the next few years.