PDA

View Full Version : Tolerance for aperture centring

Barry Kirsten
16-Aug-2013, 06:22
I'm about to start making some Waterhouse stops for an Ajax portrait petzval and am wondering how critical it is to get each aperture centred. Obviously we all strive to be as accurate as possible, but I'm wondering in practical terms what tolerance is allowable. Also where would you see the effect of an off-center stop - all over, or just at the edges? It seems to me that the smaller apertures would be more critical to get properly aligned on the optical axis because of the greater convergence at the smaller stop, but I don't know... I've never thought about it before. Any ideas most welcome. Many thanks.

Barry

BrianShaw
16-Aug-2013, 06:42
Hey Barry... I'm not an optical engineer, nor do I have any amateur opinion/knowledge either... but I've wondered the same thing. I suspect that centered is best since that is how it has been done since the beginning of photography. The soft focus lenses that use "sink strainers", like Fujinon SF, have off-center holes in addition to the regualr center hole. The off center holes are what leads to the aberration that causes softness. It is possible that only having off-center aperture would lead to similar softness in part or all of the image. It might depend upon where the film lies in relaton to the lens' image circle.

jp
16-Aug-2013, 12:48
In using Reinhold's lenses with cardboard waterhouse stops, there have been times where the cardboard has shifted 1/16 to 1/8 inch and I didn't notice a difference on the groundglass. I haven't used the 190 much at smaller than f8. Never done test shots to verify that as it's not hard to get things well centered.

Using basic crude tools I'd think you'd be very able to within 1/16" inch of center.

Mark Sawyer
16-Aug-2013, 16:44