PDA

View Full Version : Petzval type portrait lenses for 4x5 and 8x10

mcherry
25-Jul-2013, 07:51
I have been seeing images shot with these lenses for quite some time (apparently my whole life, if I really think about it) but have never owned any. I thought that they were only used for older, alternative process work, such as wet plate.

But I now would like to explore using one or two on my 4x5 and 8x10 cameras. I have only used Rodenstock or Schneider lenses so far, all mounted in Copal shutters. I have no idea how to even get started with this. I ran a couple of searches, but I'm starting to feel a bit overwhelmed.

How do you even mount these? Can they be put into a copal shutter?

Any advice for a total newb would be greatly appreciated.

fecaleagle
25-Jul-2013, 08:41
Don't worry! There's a lot of advice coming.

I have been seeing images shot with these lenses for quite some time (apparently my whole life, if I really think about it) but have never owned any. I thought that they were only used for older, alternative process work, such as wet plate.

They are often used for alternative process work, such as wet plate, for both the distinctive look of their images and the fact that they meet the speed requirements of slow emulsions, but they can just as easily be used for film. I am slowly moving toward shooting plates, but for the time being, I am doing all of my work with one of these lenses on film.

How do you even mount these? Can they be put into a copal shutter?

The Petzvals for 4x5 can potentially be put into a shutter (depending on the diameter of the lens elements) by a machinist who specializes in photographic work (like S.K. Grimes), but for the most part, you have to use them with a Packard shutter, guillotine shutter, or just use a hat/darkslide to regulate the exposure. They can easily be mounted onto any lens board if they come with a "mounting flange" as seen in this picture:

http://farm5.static.flickr.com/4007/4658253747_13f6d9d446_b.jpg