PDA

View Full Version : Speed Graphic Lens Board

Alan Tippett
14-Jul-2004, 13:45
If this is to basic a question please excuse my ignorance. If I should be using a different forum please advise. I am new to Large Format Cameras. I have been using my TLR Rollie for some time however recently I was given a Speed Graphic. I would like to slowly enter the world of 4X5. Any suggestions are welcome. I would assume one of the first things to look at is the lens. My question is are lens board standard or is that something I need to keep in mind? The Speed Graphic came equiped with a Kodak Ektar f/4.7 127mm lens. What should a beginner like myself keep in mind for my first couple of steps. I do only B&W and I am really enjoying these negatives.

tim o'brien
14-Jul-2004, 14:02
Lens boards are not standard. Depends on the model of Speed you have. Anniversary types (pre 1950 or so) have plastic or wooden lens boards on them, later Pacemaker models have stamped metal boards. The former are easy to build, the later are found at Midwest Camera Exchange or other suppliers of ancient photo stuff, or found in auctions on EBay, or deep down in boxes at photo shows.

The 127 lens is generally a very sharp lens. It, of course, depends on how it was treated, cleaned, etc. Get your shutter speeds checked and perhaps the shutter CLA'd. The back shutter may or maynot be accurate, depending on how the unit was stored. The springs do slow after while. I find I use the back shutter very infrequently on my 4x5 but it comes in handy on the 3x4 and 2x3 Speeds with barrel lens.

Your Speed is your friend. Treat it right, and it will treat you to amazing quality of photos.

tim in san jose

neil poulsen
14-Jul-2004, 14:04