PDA

View Full Version : Developer (newb question)

Michael Lloyd
20-Jul-2013, 20:05
I just developed film (4x5) for the first time yesterday (not counting when I was in the third grade). I used Ilford DD-X developer with Ilford Delta 100. I have some TMax that I've been wanting to try too but I'm not sure if I should use DD-X or something else.

To be honest I thought that I would develop the first negatives and get it out of my system but the opposite seems to be happening.

I've done a little reading and apparently I don't have to use Ilford chemicals with Ilford film, etc. Bearing in mind that I'm a newb, the question is: what other developers should I consider and why?

C_Remington
20-Jul-2013, 20:59
Too broad.

Leigh
20-Jul-2013, 21:02
Hi Michael,

I addressed this in more detail in the other thread.

I think Fuji Acros developed in Rodinal will produce the images you want.
Rodinal has the advantage of virtually infinite shelf life, even in partially-used containers.

- Leigh

polyglot
21-Jul-2013, 01:50
You can use any brand of developer with any film, to varying effect. Pretty hard to go wrong with DD-X.

Mark Barendt
21-Jul-2013, 03:50
DD-X is great. It is easy to use, produces great negatives, and can be used with any traditional B&W film.

Data sheet http://www.ilfordphoto.com/Webfiles/2011427124733149.pdf This shows some of the other film's times and temps. With unlisted films do a test sheet or two with a guessed time to find a ball park time. As with all developers the listed times are just a place to start anyway, over time you'll find your own preferences for time and temp.

As to what others you should try. IMO none, at least not until you can identify a problem DD-X can't solve, or some different characteristic that you might want.