PDA

View Full Version : Liquid Alternative To D76 1+1

Shilesh Jani
10-Jul-2004, 15:12
Hello All,

I am new to LF and B/W and have had success processing Fuji Acros 100 and some Ilford FP4+ in D76 1+1. I would like to migrate to a developer sold in liquid form that has the "universality" of D76. Grain is not an issue for me, but I would like high accutance. Any help/experience is greatly appreciated. Thank you.

Shilesh

Moe_4073
10-Jul-2004, 15:18
I don't know of any liquid developer that acts exactly like D-76, but as an alternate try Ilford Ilfosol-S which has published development times for many common films. For the uncommon films, check out the guidelines at the Massive Development Chart:

http://www.digitaltruth.com/devchart.html

Regards,

Ralph Barker
10-Jul-2004, 15:42
You might try Ilford's DD-X liquid concentrate. Standard mix is 1+4, but some folks like to go 1+6 or 1+7, and extend development time. I use it at 1+4, and really like the balance between tonality, grain, and accutance it provides. (I use 8½ minutes in trays for Fuji Acros shot at ISO 100.)

Another alternative is Ilfotec HC, which ends up being a little more economical with a 1+31 standard dilution (with a small graduate capable of measuring out 1 ounce accurately). Its formulation is supposed to be similar to HC110.

Tom Westbrook
10-Jul-2004, 15:58
It doesn't look like D76, but for high accutance try Rodinal. It's a pretty cheap, syrupy liquid, used in high dilutions, like 1:25-1:100 or even higher. I haven't used it with the films you mentioned, but have with Tmax 100 with good results. It also has the advantage of having advertised times for just about every film known, since it's a pretty old and commonly used developer. It's readily available, too.

Chris Gittins
10-Jul-2004, 16:08